Press Release
For Immediate Release December 29, 2020


Allard Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee  

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the appointment of Kevin Allard to the FFIEC’s State Liaison Committee (SLC). Allard was designated by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS) to complete the remainder of the two-year term left vacant by the early departure of Commissioner John Ducrest. Allard’s partial term on the SLC will expire on March 31, 2021.  

Allard has served as Superintendent of the Ohio Division of Financial Institutions since March 2017. Prior to being named Superintendent, he served as Deputy Superintendent for Banks and as Deputy Superintendent for Savings and Loan Associations and Savings Banks. Previously, Allard served as Chief Examiner for the Banks and Savings Institutions section of the Division. Allard began his career with the former Division of Savings and Loan Associations in 1986 as a field examiner and became Chief Examiner in 1990.

Allard graduated from the Ohio Bankers League, Bank Leadership Institute in 1999. Allard is a past Chairman and trustee for the Institute for Supervisory Education, and he earned his Bachelor of Science in Accounting from the University of Akron in May, 1985. Currently, Allard serves as the SLC’s alternate on the FFIEC’s Task Force on Supervision.

The SLC is comprised of five members, and also includes:

  • SLC Chairman Greg Gonzales, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Financial Institutions, designated by the CSBS;
  • Tom Fite, Director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, selected by the Council;
  • Melanie Hall, Commissioner, Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, selected by the Council; and
  • Stephen Pleger, Senior Deputy Commissioner, State of Georgia, Department of Banking and Finance, designated by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS).

The FFIEC was created by the federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to “prescribe uniform principles and standards for the federal examination of financial institutions” and “make recommendations to promote uniformity” in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.


Media Contacts:

CFPB Marisol Garibay (202) 384-8538
SLC Catherine Pickels (202) 728-5734