Press Release
For Immediate Release May 2, 2022


Hall Re-Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee   

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) today announced the reappointment of Melanie Hall to the FFIECís State Liaison Committee (SLC). Hallís reappointment was confirmed by the Council for her second full two-year term starting May 1, 2022, and continuing through April 30, 2024. Hall has been active on the SLC since May 2020 when she was confirmed by the Council for her first full two-year term.

Hall is the Commissioner of the Montana Division of Banking and Financial Institutions. As Commissioner, Hall provides leadership to the Banking Division, which is responsible for the supervision of all state-chartered banks and state-chartered credit unions, as well as licensing and examination of over 2,000 non-bank financial entities. The division is also responsible for processing consumer complaints by Montanans against regulated and unregulated providers of financial services.

Hall is the Chair of the Board of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) and is the past Chair of the CSBS Education Foundation Board. She also serves on the Board of the Montana Council on Economic Education.

The five-member SLC also includes:

  • SLC Chairman Tom Fite, Director, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, selected by the Council;
  • Kevin Allard, Superintendent, Ohio Division of Financial Institutions, designated by the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS);
  • Susannah Marshall, Commissioner, Arkansas Bank Department, designated by the CSBS; and
  • Stephen Pleger, Senior Deputy Commissioner, State of Georgia, Department of Banking and Finance, designated by the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS).

The FFIEC was created by the Federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions, and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the FFIEC and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.

The FFIEC currently consists of the following six voting members: a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; the Comptroller of the Currency; the Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC.

The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking and credit union agencies that supervise financial institutions. Members are designated by the CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the FFIEC. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, two-year term.


Media Contacts:

NCUA Joseph Adamoli (703) 518-6330
SLC Catherine Pickels (202) 728-5734