Press Releases
Press Release
For Immediate Release April 23, 2003

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council announced today several appointments to its State Liaison Committee.

The Council has appointed Richard C. Houseworth, Superintendent of Banks, Arizona, to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Elizabeth McCaul, former Superintendent of Banking, New York. The unexpired portion of Ms. McCaul's term continues through April 30, 2004.

The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors appoints Jerrie J. Lattimore, Credit Union Division, North Carolina Commerce Department to the Committee to replace Iowa Superintendent of Credit unions James E. Forney, whose term is expiring.

The American Council of State Savings Supervisors has appointed Jonathan Smith, Review Examiner, State Banking Department, Delaware, to replace Texas Savings & Loan Commissioner James L. Pledger, whose term is expiring.

The two-year terms of Ms. Lattimore and Mr. Smith begin May 1, 2003 and continue through April 30, 2005.

The State Liaison Committee members who continue in service are SLC Chairman and Mississippi Banking Commissioner John S. Allison and Massachusetts Banking Commissioner Thomas J. Curry.

The Examination Council was established by Congress to promote uniformity among the five Federal financial supervisory agencies in the supervision and examination of the federally chartered or insured institutions under their supervision. The State Liaison Committee is composed of five representatives of state agencies that supervise State-chartered financial institutions. The State Liaison Committee as established to encourage the application of uniform examination principles and standards by State and Federal supervisory agencies.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has five member agencies: the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Administration, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and the Office of Thrift Supervision. The Council's activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.