Press Releases
Press Release
For Immediate Release April 1, 2015


Caroline Jones Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) announced today the appointment of a new member of the Councilís State Liaison Committee (SLC). Caroline Jones serves as the Commissioner of the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending. Commissioner Jones serves as the American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS) representative on the SLC for a two-year term commencing today through March 31, 2017.

Jones joined the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending in March 2008, and was appointed Commissioner June 1, 2014. Her previous experience includes serving as in-house counsel at Guaranty Bank, and in-house counsel at the Farm Credit Bank of Texas. Her main area of practice has been residential mortgage lending. Commissioner Jones received her undergraduate degree from Sophie Newcomb College of Tulane University and her law degree from St. Maryís University School of Law. She is a graduate of the Governorís Executive Development Program through the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs and a graduate of Leadership Austin. Jones currently serves as the Board Chair of ACSSS.

Jones joins the current four members of the SLC who are:

  • SLC Chairman David Cotney, Commissioner of Banks for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
  • Mary Hughes, Financial Institutions Bureau Chief of the Idaho Department of Finance.
  • Lauren Kingry, Superintendent of the Arizona Department of Financial Institutions.
  • Karen Lawson, Director of the Office of Banking within the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has six voting members: the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the National Credit Union Administration, and the State Liaison Committee. The Councilís activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.


Media Contacts:

CFPB Sam Gilford (202) 435-7673
FDIC Greg Hernandez (202) 898-6984
FRB Darren Gersh (202) 452-2955
NCUA Ben Hardaway (703) 518-6333
OCC Stephanie Collins (202) 649-6870
SLC Catherine Woody (202) 728-5733