Press Releases
Press Release
For Immediate Release April 1, 2013


Three Appointed to FFIEC State Liaison Committee

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (Council) announced today the appointment of three new members of the Councilís State Liaison Committee (SLC). The two-year terms for these SLC members run from April 1, 2013 through March 31, 2015.

The American Council of State Savings Supervisors (ACSSS) confirmed the appointment of Michael Mach, Division of Banking Administrator for the Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions. Mach succeeds Douglas Foster, Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending Commissioner. Mach serves as the chairman of ACSSS, has served on the board of directors of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS), and is a member of CSBSís regulatory committee.

CSBS confirmed the appointment of Lauren Kingry, Superintendent of the Arizona Department of Financial Institutions. Kingry succeeds John Munn, Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance Director. Kingry was appointed by Governor Jan Brewer as the 28th Superintendent for Arizona on April 5, 2010. Prior to his appointment, Kingry spent 39 years in commercial banking, with both community banks and large multi-state regional banks. Kingry has served as a member of the CSBS Board of Directors and is on the Community Bank Steering Group.

The National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) confirmed the appointment of Thomas Candon, Deputy Commissioner of Banking and Securities of the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation. Candon succeeds Harold E. Feeney, Texas Credit Union Commissioner. Candon also serves for the Commissioner of the Department of Financial Services on the Vermont Housing Finance Agency Board, a position he has held since 1993. Presently Candon serves as past Chairman on the Board of NASCUS; on the State Regulatory Registry Board of Managers which oversees the operation of the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry; on committees of CSBS; and as a member of the North American Association of Securities Administrators.

The Council was created by the Federal Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms for the federal examination of financial institutions, and to make recommendations to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. It also conducts schools for examiners employed by the five federal member agencies represented on the Council and makes those schools available to employees of state agencies that supervise financial institutions. The Council currently consists of the following six voting members: the Comptroller of the Currency, Office of Comptroller of the Currency; a member of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (Board), appointed by the Chairman of the Board; Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation; Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau; Chairman of the National Credit Union Administration; and the Chairman of the SLC. The SLC consists of five representatives of state banking agencies that supervise financial institutions and members are designated from CSBS, ACSSS, NASCUS, and the Council. An SLC member may have his or her two-year term extended by the appointing organization for an additional, consecutive two-year term.