Press Releases
Press Release
For Immediate Release January 30, 2006

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council announced today a new appointment to its State Liaison Committee.

The Council has appointed Mick Thompson, Oklahoma State Banking Commissioner, to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Richard C. Houseworth, Superintendent of Banks for the Arizona State Banking Department. The unexpired portion of Mr. Houseworth's term continues through April 30, 2007.

Mick Thompson, a former banker of fifteen years also served as a State Representative from 1976 to 1984 serving as chairman of the House Banking and Finance Committee, majority floor leader, and a member of the Appropriations and Budge Committee.

Commissioner Thompson was initially appointed Oklahoma bank commissioner on September 1, 1992 by Governor David Walters and has been reappointed on several occasions. He has held this position longer than any other bank commissioner in Oklahoma history.

Before being appointed Bank Commissioner, he was director of legislative and governmental relations for the Oklahoma Governor's Office. Mr. Thompson served as Chairman of the CSBS in 2003 and 2004.

The Oklahoma State Banking department regulates state chartered banks, credit unions, trust companies, and savings and loan associations.

Mr. Thompson earned his bachelor's degree from Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Durant, Oklahoma where he currently serves on the School of Business Advisory Council, and Foundation Board. He earned his master's degree in education from Northeastern State University, Tahlequah, Oklahoma. Thompson also received his graduate degree in banking from the University of Colorado in Boulder where he currently serves on the Board of Trustees.

The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has five member agencies: the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Administration, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, and the Office of Thrift Supervision. The Council's activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.